Whats the best way to log every Mattermost post, so as to create a graph visualization of that data?

Hello!

I’m pretty new to Mattermost. My goal is to visualize every post that happens on my Mattermost server (team version) as a graph visualization (Nodes being users, edges being their posts, and the target nodes being channels… channels could also be visualized as the individual users within them)

I am not sure about the best way to go about this. It almost seems like I just want all the data that the Mattermost server will already be storing, just also saved in a graph format (node list + edge list) instead of however its currently saved. (You might be able to tell from my description, I am a novice developer :stuck_out_tongue: Please be patient)

My primary question is: what is the best way to go about getting this graph-formatted data (literally just need a csv of from-to relationships) Is there an existing means of running the entire server database through some sort of filter occasionally that spits out a CSV? Would that be reasonable? Would it be better to use the API and get every user, then get all their channels, then get all their posts? Is there a way to use webhooks to request that literally every post also get sent through the webhook? What about the new intercept stuff in v5.0? Could I intercept every post? My server already has a lot of activity on it, so I guess I’m seeking advice on two things. 1. Whats the recommended way to convert all of my existing data into the CSV format I described, and then 2. Moving forward, whats the best way to log each new post as it emerges so that it can appended onto the existing log?

Any recommendations or advice are welcom? One further complication is that I would also like to know which users were actually in a channel at the time a post was made… so chronology matters to me too, not just which channel a post was sent to and the latest list of who is in that channel.