Using python script in Incoming Webhook

I hope I posted this in the right place

I need helping to output a string from python script into the curl function of webhook

Note that I am new to python, never worked with json and in the process of configuring mattermost for the first time.

I have the following python script

users=['mark','john','steve']

text=''

for user in users:
    text+=str(user + " ")

print(text)

how can I use text variable which is a string in the curl function in the text option or any way that what I need works

curl --insecure -i -X POST -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d '{"text": 'HERE'}' https://10.10.10.6/hooks/84kk9emcdigz8xta1bykiymn5e

I tried that curl --insecure -i -X POST -H ‘Content-Type: application/json’ -d ‘{“text”: ‘python /home/scripts/python-script.py’}’ https://10.10.10.6/hooks/84kk9emcdigz8xta1bykiymn5e

and got that error
{"id":"Unable to parse incoming data","message":"Unable to parse incoming data","detailed_error":"","request_id":"fpnmfds8zifziyc85oe5eyf3pa","status_code":400}

Any help appreciated Thank you

Hi there,

You’re definitely in the right place. :slight_smile:

The best way to send requests from a Python script to Mattermost is to use one of the Python libraries available like this one. That way you don’t have to worry about outputting the request in a way that curl can understand.

Happy to help if you have any more questions!

1 Like

Hey paul,
thank you for your reply. took me some time to try it. I need some guidance with it. for starters I get this error ImportError: No module named mattermostdriver even though I installed it with pip3.

Could you post your script so far?

from mattermostdriver import Driver

foo = Driver({
'url':'10.10.10.6',
'scheme':'https',
'port':8065
})

foo.login()

users=['mark','john','steve']

text=' '.join(users)

foo.hooks.call_webhook('https://10.10.10.6/hooks/84kk9emcdigz8xta1bykiymn5e', text)

When I run it I get this error

Traceback (most recent call last):