When the “Channel Mentions” permission is disabled for a channel, users are unable to edit or delete their posts.
Steps to reproduce
Go to System Console -> Channels
For a public channel, disable Channel Mentions
Channel mentions are disabled but otherwise user permissions are unchanged
Users no longer see any entries for Edit/Delete in the context menu for posts. Restoring Channel Mentions restores the Edit/Delete capability.