Unable to upsert materialized public channel

Hi,

I’ve been hosting a Mattermost instance for a few years. It’s updated to version 5.22.1.

When I try to create a new channel, I get this message in red: Unable to upsert materialized public channel.

In the log I see this:

{"level":"error","ts":1587712158.347758,"caller":"mlog/log.go:175","msg":"Unable to upsert materialized public channel.","path":"/api/v4/channels","request_id":"~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~","ip_addr":"82.~~.~~.~~","user_id":"~~~~~~~~","method":"POST","err_where":"SqlChannelStore.Save","http_code":500,"err_details":"failed to insert public channel: pq: duplicate key value violates unique constraint \"publicchannels_name_teamid_key\""}

The error message is not very clear. How can I fix this?

What OS and version are you on?

The server is running on Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS

@hamoid, did you recently upgrade to v5.22.1? If so, what version were you running prior to encountering this issue? Also, are you using MySQL or Postgres?

The error relates to an insertion attempt into a PublicChannels table – a subset of the Channels table that only contains public channels and which the server uses to optimize various queries. Generally speaking, the upsert should never fail, since it either inserts a new row, or tries to update an existing one. However, we have noticed this error on MySQL when the server is under heavy write conditions, i.e. lots of public channels being created. Does this perchance describe your situation?

Hi, thanks you.

The server runs on Postgresql. There’s no MySQL installed.

It’s not an instance with high demand: 188 Active Users, 5 Teams, 27 Channels, 8094 Posts, 7 Daily Active Users, 16 Monthly Active Users.

I updated to v5.22.1 today, but I don’t know since when this is an issue, as we haven’t created new channels in a long time.

I was updating from the immediate previous version. I update for every 1 or 2 releases.