[Solved] Unable to join teams

Greetings,

We are using Gitlab (Paid Enterprise Edition version; also confirmed on my home private Gitlab Community Edition) with Mattermost and we want the only authentication to be Gitlab. I am running the latest version of Gitlab which I believe is running the latest 4.8.1. I had a user contact me with an oddity that I have confirmed with my test account (regular user) and my admin account. I am not sure when this problem started as we’ve been running the same config for a few months.

The short of the problem is that users are unable to join teams. There is no + button on the team side bar for them to click on. For Admin users there is, but it ONLY allows team creation (which we only want Admins creating teams - but there is no way for them to join a team with the + icon).

So as an Admin, I create a new team and make it public for anyone…but then no one can join it because they don’t have a button to click on. Fine. I will send out the links to join the team. A user clicks on it, and they are immediately redirected to their primary team! They never join the new team. No error that I’ve seen either.

Worse, we had a user who WAS on a team, but in a “I wonder what happens if…” moment removed himself from the team and now we can NOT seem to get him back into that team. I’m at a loss. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Here is the Gitlab config:

mattermost[‘env’] = {
‘MM_SERVICESETTINGS_ENABLECUSTOMEMOJI’ => ‘true’,
‘MM_SERVICESETTINGS_ENABLEEMOJIPICKER’ => ‘true’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_ENABLESIGNUPWITHEMAIL’ => ‘false’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_ENABLESIGNINWITHEMAIL’ => ‘false’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_ENABLESIGNINWITHUSERNAME’ => ‘false’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_ENABLEEMAILBATCHING’ => ‘true’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_SENDEMAILNOTIFICATIONS’ => ‘true’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_USECHANNELINEMAILNOTIFICATIONS’ => ‘true’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_REQUIREEMAILVERIFICATION’ => ‘false’,
‘MM_EMAILSETTINGS_FEEDBACKNAME’ => ‘Removed’,