How can I update the Mattermost installation on my QNAP device?

Hello Everybody.

I’m using the latest Mattermost service on my QNAP NAS installed from Official QNAP Store (lastest is 5.0.0.7). Recently my mobile client’s Mattermost app’s showed me the warning message that the server is outdated and needs update. Unfortunately QNAP’s support told me that the maintainer of the package is Mattermost Inc. not QNAP. Does anybody know is there any chance for the developers to update the package ? The solution worked perfect but last update was around a year ago or so ?

I know that i can use it from non official QNAP repositories but I would rather stay on the official solutions.

Have a nice weekend everyone :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I’ll second this. I’m new to Mattermost, found that installing it on my personal QNAP was a great way to kick the tires. Seeing QNAP is stuck at 5.0.0 with the app throwing errors about the old version makes it seems like Mattermost abandons integration. Not a great first impression.

Is there an update coming for QNAP, or a preferred way to deploy on QNAP that doesn’t use their app store? Having it out there but out of date seems worse than nothing at all.

Good day gentlemen,

You have to ask the QNAP team to update the mattermost pkg.

Cheers

Hooray! A redirect loop!

Per the QNAP App Center Directory the owner and maintainer of their app center entry is Mattermost, Inc. and was last updated by Mattermost 2019/06/06 - https://www.qnap.com/en/app_releasenotes/list.php?app_choose=mattermost

Frankly, I have no way of knowing which is correct, but delegating resolving this to users when a large platform is presenting an old, incompatible version of your product seems like the wrong path.

Perhaps someone at Mattermost could contact QNAP on our behalf and take us out of the loop?

go to the link Ive sent you and ask stephane to update the qpkg.

I dont like to repeat myself.

1 Like

Hi!